Amazon.com & Wasteful Packaging.

These are photos of a box and it’s contents shipped to me from Amazon.com The contents consisted of two CDs and a Magazine. The box was big enough hold this 100 times over. Can you say absurd? I knew you could….
The box right after it was opened.

Part 1 of 7: The box right after it was opened.

A closer look
Part 2 of 7: The box right after it was opened. (A closer look)

Starting to remove the massive amount of bubble insulation
Part 3 of 7: Starting to remove the massive amount of bubble insulaton

Here’s the massive amount of bubble insulation after I had unfurled it.
Part 4 of 7: Here's the massive amount of bubble insulaton after I had unfurled it.

Contents of the box after all the bubble insulation was removed
Part 5 of 7: Contents of the box after all the bubble insulaton was removed

 

The big envelope had bubble wrap on the inside and contained the Playbill Magazine you see here.  A slimly bigger envelope could have held that and the two CDs combined.
Part 6 of 7: Contents of the box after all the bubble insulaton was removed (Part deux)

In the end, this is what I (got sans insulation and envelope).
Part 7 of 7: In the end, this is what I (got sans insulation and envelope).

Someone suggested to me that Amazon.com uses "standardized packaging" to save on costs.  However, I often order 2-3 CDs at a time and that same amount of merchandise has arrived from Amazon.com in small (almost form-fitting) boxes, big envelopes with bubble wrap insulation, medium sized boxes with some bubble insulation like you see above and lastly the box as shown above (that one takes the cake).
I’m glad I didn’t pay for shipping. 🙂

P.S. If you are curious as to what I ordered, you will find it here and here.

Posted in General, Odd, Rant, Shopping. Tags: , , , , . Comments Off on Amazon.com & Wasteful Packaging.
