Barack Obama’s Acceptance Speech

After the speech was over and I regained my composure and then had a few hours to contemplate what I’d just witnessed, I was still at a loss for words.

So just a while ago (after our electricity finally came back on – following a 12-hour power failure that thankfully occurred after the convention was over), I was reading what others had to say and I think Andrew Sullivan of The Atlantic has expressed my feeling better than anyone so far.

“It was a liberal speech, more unabashedly, unashamedly liberal than any Democratic [nominee] acceptance speech since the great era of American liberalism. But it made the case for that liberalism – in the context of the decline of the American dream, and the rise of cynicism and the collapse of cultural unity.

His ability to portray that liberalism as a patriotic, unifying, ennobling tradition makes him the most lethal and  remarkable Democratic figure since John F. Kennedy.”

Oh wait….

I do have few original thoughts after all.

On 21 January 2009 after we’ve all had a day to ponder President Obama’s Inaugural Address, it will occur to many that said address will be written about in history books and remembered for decades and decades to come.

YES WE CAN!

Oh and pass me the Kleenex.

Posted in Politics. Tags: , . Comments Off on Barack Obama’s Acceptance Speech
