Yahoo! Implements OpenID

It’s nice to see that Yahoo! is jumping on the OpenID bandwagon. That just leaves Google and Microsoft. I supect we’ll see the former before the latter. Microsoft does , it but only via Windows CardSpace. That’s means a smaller audience than the other guys. I’d like to see them support it via regular a Window Live/MSN ID.

Google only supports it via Blogger commenters. I’d llike to see Google support it via your plain old Google ID. I can’t imagine we will have to wait too long for that to become a reality.

I’ll probably end up with Yahoo! when all is said and done.

Meanwhile, I use OpenID on a number of sites. My problem is I can’t decide on one provider and I often forget which one I use where. I started off with LiveJournal (which is where OpenID originated) and then later, Vox and more recently AOL (in my case I use my AIM ID). What I’d like is to use a more “neutral” provider that I know won’t be going out of business next week.

I know all of the above are pretty safe bets. They won’t be going anywhere anytime soon, but I think I like the idea of Google or Yahoo! best

The Yahoo! beta starts on the 30 January. I hope Google gets around to it pretty soon as well.

In the meantime I guess I’ll stick with my mix of LJ, Vox and AOL. I hope that there is an easy way to switch from one to the other on the sites I use them on. So far, I’ve not seen that such a thing exists. Starting over would suck.

Posted in Internet. Tags: , . Comments Off on Yahoo! Implements OpenID
