Imus Fired. Kudos to NBC & MSNBC

From http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17999196/

    MSNBC staff and news service reports

    NEW YORK – Talk show host Don Imus’ situation worsened Wednesday, when MSNBC announced that it would no longer simulcast the “Imus in the Morning” radio program.

    In a statement, NBC News announced “this decision comes as a result of an ongoing review process, which initially included the announcement of a suspension. It also takes into account many conversations with our own employees. What matters to us most is that the men and women of NBC Universal have confidence in the values we have set for this company. This is the only decision that makes that possible.”

    The network statement went on to say, “Once again, we apologize to the women of the Rutgers basketball team and to our viewers. We deeply regret the pain this incident has caused.”  

The whole story can be read here.

I’ve always had mixed feelings about Imus. I feel the same way about him as I do Howard Stern.  They both “cross the line” every so often, but I otherwise enjoyed listening to them. I’m not a “fan” of either and rarely listened to them, but did every so often.

On the other hand, my opinion of Imus has been changing over the past few years.  I keep weird hours so I saw his show on MSNBC every so often (It starts in the middle of the night here with the time difference) and I found myself getting annoyed with him more often. Not just because of his insults but he just comes across to me as “high paid trailer trash”.  He’s a hick. I’m not into hicks.

That combined with a number of his “over the top” insults began to change my opinion of him. But this latest fiasco (the Rutgers Women’s Basketball team insults) was the “straw that broke the camels back”  It was flat-out racist, period. I have zero tolerance for racism.

At first MSNBC said his show would be “suspended” for two weeks (they didn’t mention anything about his pay though) and I thought that was bullshit.

I admire NBC management for changing it’s mind and canceling the simulcast.  I was most impressed with how they were most concerned with the rest of the employees of NBC and the example they were setting.  The “suspension” was bullshit and I’m sure management got an earfull from the employees.

I was reading up on Imus on Wikipedia today and was reminded of his success, charity work and his 1989 induction into the Radio Hall of Fame.

While his accomplishments are admirable, his racism is just the opposite.  As far as I’m concenred, it “cancels out” the successes.

I hope CBS (parent of WFAN the radio station his radio show originates from) follows suit. Imus doesn’t belong on the air, anywhere.

Posted in General. Comments Off on Imus Fired. Kudos to NBC & MSNBC
