Do you have Vonage, the VOIP (Internet Phone) service?

A little background for those who don’t know Vonage.

Vonage isn’t like Skype, Gizmo Project/LJ Talk or the phone services of Google Talk, AIM, Windows Live (MSN) or Yahoo! Messenger.

Vonage lets you use your regular home phones but it connects them over your broadband internet connection instead of your regular phone lines (Verizon itself, A&T and Earthlink have similar services).

But I digress….

I seriously considered Vonage a while back. I was looking to save us some money.

I’m glad I didn’t now, because (as you may already know), Vonage may cease to exist very soon. Apparently their lawyers didn’t bother to do a patent search before they started up. Verizon (who strangely offers a competing service but didn’t start that service till after Vonage did) initially said Vonage had violated 7 of it’s Patents. They later dropped that to 5. But it looks like the courts have sided with Verizon.

Vonage is in serious doo-doo

Unless… their recent alternative plan some how works out.

I’m glad I decided not so sign up with them in the first place.

I hate Qwest (“the” phone company in this part of the world). That’s who we have now. Maybe I’ll give Cox’s service (the same folks who provide our Cable Internet service) a shot….

One Response to “Do you have Vonage, the VOIP (Internet Phone) service?”


Comments are closed.

