“Christian” Ubuntu. My $.02

If you follow the world of Open Source Software (Linux in particular) you’ve probably heard by now of the latest variation of Ubuntu Linux.

I only happened upon this today. I’m late to the party, what can I say?

So here it is folks, for those of you who’ve not seen it yet. It’s:

When I first came across this on OSDir, I thought it was a joke. But no, these folks are fucking serious.

What is it about Christians? Why do they have to continually throw their religion in everyone’s face?

Why can’t they just “chill” like others (Buddhists, Hindus, Jews, Wiccans, Pagans, Agnostics, Atheists, etc).?

When was the last time you heard an obnoxious Buddhist on TV shoving his/her beliefs down your throat?

You see my point?

OK, I’m getting somewhat off topic here.

As I Googled the topic some more I found a post by fellow WordPress.com blogger, “lordillidan” who supports the project and is critical of folks like me.

Naturally, I couldn’t resist putting my $.02 in. I’ll quote it here, because it will save me time re-stating it anyway. Much if it is what I’ve said already, but I still wanted to share 🙂

First off, why can’t “Christian” Linux users simply install “Christan” software on their computers the way they do on Windows etc? Does Microsoft produce “Christian Windows”? No, they don’t have to. Apparently enough Christians can figure out how to install “Christian” software in Windows.

I think it’s just silly. And being that I am one of those who gets annoyed as hell at Christians shoving their beliefs in front of everyone all the time, I just don’t like the idea, period.

You don’t suppose that we’ll have Hindu Ubuntu, Buddhist Ubuntu, Islam Ubuntu or Wicca Ubuntu do you?

I doubt it. Only Christians pull off this kind of crap (OK, not all Christians but a significant vocal number of them) and far too often.

WTF is with these people anyway?

Maybe Pat Robertson could promote “Christian Ubuntu” on his little TV show. Cool idea eh?

Oh maybe RMS could join Pat. After all, he kind of looks like Jesus.

RMS - the hairy GNU guru with the Jesua look.

The good news out of all of this, is it’s inspired a new Linux Distro!

LuciferLinux!

Stay tuned.

Creative Commons License

This above photograph is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 License.

–>

One Response to ““Christian” Ubuntu. My $.02”

  1. Sean Kehoe Says:

    Oh dear. Here’s a quote from their web site.

    “The goal of Ubuntu Christian Edition is to bring the power and security of Ubuntu to Christians. Ubuntu Christian Edition is suitable for both desktop and server use. The current Ubuntu release supports PC (Intel x86). ”

    I say it’s about time Christians had access to Ubuntu. They obviously can’t install the regular distributions since it was written in John 9:14

    “The lord did spaketh that any man who installeth not the Lord’s chosen Ubuntu distribution instead chosing to install the desktop or server versions shall be unclean in mine eyes and shall be eaten by dogs so that I may love them again.”

    One note though. The compilers of this edition have gone to great lengths to ensure compatibility. See this comment from the FAQ.

    “Q: Is Ubuntu Christian Edition designed for Protestants or Catholics?

    A: Both! Ubuntu Christian Edition will always try to cater to the needs of all Christians.”

    Fnally we have an OS that will bring an end to the troubles in Northern Ireland!


Comments are closed.

